About me

Joachim Gerhard 450 years of speaker building
I built my first detector receivers at the age of eleven to listen to Russian long wave transmitters. My first loudspeaker was a tin box with holes and an integrated small speaker.

Over time I became enthusiastic about electroacoustically reproduced music and building loudspeakers. By the age of 18 I had built about 500 different pairs. From bass reflex to transmission line and horn everything was included.

At Speaker Selection in Kassel I developed many innovations that had not existed in this form before. For example the Onwall- , Klangbild- and Isobarik-loudspeaker with minimal coupling volume and push-pull technology and the Daimos, D'Appolito loudspeaker, a once folded transmission line with triangular outlet.

After my studies, my partner Harmuth Janßen and I ventured into independence and opened a gallery for modern art coupled with a high-end audio studio: avant-garde, high-fidelity and contemporary art, an unusual and revolutionary idea. Together with Kurt Hecker, the current president of the High End Society, and L'Audiophile in Paris with Jean Hiraga, Gerard Chretien and Pattric Vibeau, we worked on the German version of the 10W Class A amplifier Le Monstre and the Petit L`Audiophile. Both exhibited at the High End and tested by Audio.

Trade magazines became more and more aware of Audio Physic. In 1996 Lars Mytting interviewed me about a number of exciting questions that are still current today. My developments were described as "Magic" and "Best Loudspeaker in the Universe". In 1996 Michel Fremer's report in Stereophile about the Virgo finally brought international recognition. Furthermore, my setup method was supported by the scientific collaboration with Bernd Theiss and Professor Malkolm Hawsford from the University of Essex.

"I have the commitment not only to be good at what I do, but to do my best."

Your Joachim Gerhard

Joachim Gerhard 4

50 years of speaker building
I built my first detector receivers at the age of eleven to listen to Russian long wave transmitters. My first loudspeaker was a tin box with holes and an integrated small speaker.

Over time I became enthusiastic about electroacoustically reproduced music and building loudspeakers. By the age of 18 I had built about 500 different pairs. From bass reflex to transmission line and horn everything was included.

At Speaker Selection in Kassel I developed many innovations that had not existed in this form before. For example the Onwall- , Klangbild- and Isobarik-loudspeaker with minimal coupling volume and push-pull technology and the Daimos, D'Appolito loudspeaker, a once folded transmission line with triangular outlet.

After my studies, my partner Harmuth Janßen and I ventured into independence and opened a gallery for modern art coupled with a high-end audio studio: avant-garde, high-fidelity and contemporary art, an unusual and revolutionary idea. Together with Kurt Hecker, the current president of the High End Society, and L'Audiophile in Paris with Jean Hiraga, Gerard Chretien and Pattric Vibeau, we worked on the German version of the 10W Class A amplifier Le Monstre and the Petit L`Audiophile. Both exhibited at the High End and tested by Audio.

Trade magazines became more and more aware of Audio Physic. In 1996 Lars Mytting interviewed me about a number of exciting questions that are still current today. My developments were described as "Magic" and "Best Loudspeaker in the Universe". In 1996 Michel Fremer's report in Stereophile about the Virgo finally brought international recognition. Furthermore, my setup method was supported by the scientific collaboration with Bernd Theiss and Professor Malkolm Hawsford from the University of Essex.

"I have the commitment not only to be good at what I do, but to do my best."

Your Joachim Gerhard

Joachim Gerhard 2
Joachim Gerhard putting on a Vinyl LP © Holger Barske
JoachimGerhard 3
Explanation by the expert © Holger Barske

Ich über mich

Joachim Gerhard 450 Jahre Lautsprecherbau
Meine ersten Detektorempfänger baute ich mit elf Jahren, um russischen Langwellensendern zu lauschen. Mein erster Lautsprecher, eine mit Löchern versehene Blechdose mit integriertem kleinen Lautsprecher, ermöglichte den Schallweg nach außen.

Mit der Zeit begeisterte ich mich für reproduzierte Musik und das Bauen von Lautsprechern. Mit 18 Jahren hatte ich so um die 500 verschiedene Paare gebaut. Von Bassreflex über Transmissionlinie und Horn war alles dabei.

Bei Speaker Selection entwickelte ich viele Innovationen, die es so noch nicht gab, zum Beispiel den Onwall-, Klangbild- und Isobarik-Lautsprecher mit minimalem Koppelvolumen und Push-Pull Technik Daimos, D´Appolito Lautsprecher, einmal gefaltete Transmissionlinie mit dreieckigem Auslass.

Nach dem Studium wagten mein Partner Harmuth Janßen und ich die Selbständigkeit und eröffneten eine Galerie mit Moderner Kunst gekoppelt mit einem High End Studio ein: Avantgarde, High-Fidelity und Gegenwartskunst, eine ungewöhnliche und revolutionäre Idee. Zusammen mit Kurt Hecker, dem heutigen Präsidenten der High End Society sowie L` Audiophile in Paris mit Jean Hiraga, Gerard Chretien und Pattric Vibeau arbeiteten wir an der deutschen Version des 10W Class A Verstärkers Le Monstre und die Petit L`Audiophile. Beides auf der High End ausgestellt und von Audio getestet.

Fachzeitschriften wurden mehr und mehr auf Audio Physic GmbH aufmerksam. 1996 interviewte mich Lars Mytting zu einer Reihe spannender und selbst heute noch aktueller Fragen. Meine Entwicklungen wurden als „Magie“ und „bester Lautsprecher des Universums“ bezeichnet. 1996 sorgte der Bericht von Michel Fremer in der Stereophile über die Virgo dann endgültig auch für die internationale Anerkennung. Außerdem wurde meine Setup Methode durch die wissenschaftliche Zusammenarbeit mit Bernd Theiss und Professor Malkolm Hawsford von der University of Essex untermauert.

„Ich habe den Ehrgeiz, in allem was ich tue nicht nur gut zu sein, sondern mein Bestes zu geben.“

Ihr Joachim Gerhard

Joachim Gerhard 4

50 Jahre Lautsprecherbau
Meine ersten Detektorempfänger baute ich mit elf Jahren, um russischen Langwellensendern zu lauschen. Mein erster Lautsprecher, eine mit Löchern versehene Blechdose mit integriertem kleinen Lautsprecher, ermöglichte den Schallweg nach außen.

Mit der Zeit begeisterte ich mich für reproduzierte Musik und das Bauen von Lautsprechern. Mit 18 Jahren hatte ich so um die 500 verschiedene Paare gebaut. Von Bassreflex über Transmissionlinie und Horn war alles dabei.

Bei Speaker Selection entwickelte ich viele Innovationen, die es so noch nicht gab, zum Beispiel den Onwall-, Klangbild- und Isobarik-Lautsprecher mit minimalem Koppelvolumen und Push-Pull Technik Daimos, D´Appolito Lautsprecher, einmal gefaltete Transmissionlinie mit dreieckigem Auslass.

Nach dem Studium wagten mein Partner Harmuth Janßen und ich die Selbständigkeit und eröffneten eine Galerie mit Moderner Kunst gekoppelt mit einem High End Studio ein: Avantgarde, High-Fidelity und Gegenwartskunst, eine ungewöhnliche und revolutionäre Idee. Zusammen mit Kurt Hecker, dem heutigen Präsidenten der High End Society sowie L` Audiophile in Paris mit Jean Hiraga, Gerard Chretien und Pattric Vibeau arbeiteten wir an der deutschen Version des 10W Class A Verstärkers Le Monstre und die Petit L`Audiophile. Beides auf der High End ausgestellt und von Audio getestet.

Fachzeitschriften wurden mehr und mehr auf Audio Physic GmbH aufmerksam. 1996 interviewte mich Lars Mytting zu einer Reihe spannender und selbst heute noch aktueller Fragen. Meine Entwicklungen wurden als „Magie“ und „bester Lautsprecher des Universums“ bezeichnet. 1996 sorgte der Bericht von Michel Fremer in der Stereophile über die Virgo dann endgültig auch für die internationale Anerkennung. Außerdem wurde meine Setup Methode durch die wissenschaftliche Zusammenarbeit mit Bernd Theiss und Professor Malkolm Hawsford von der University of Essex untermauert.

„Ich habe den Ehrgeiz, in allem was ich tue nicht nur gut zu sein, sondern mein Bestes zu geben.“

Ihr Joachim Gerhard

Joachim Gerhard 2
Joachim Gerhard beim Auflegen © Holger Barske
JoachimGerhard 3
Erläuterung des Experten © Holger Barske